Book titles: How do you know when it’s right, and when it’s just you?

Hello, my name is Elizabeth and I am addicted to books. I love to look at them, to read them, even to smell them! Most of all, I love to write books. I currently have several children’s stories and young reader books that are waiting on me to get my act in gear and get illustrations and editing completed. But here’s the thing…how do you name these amazing works of art?

Over the past few years I have come up with a few titles for my books and short stories that I thought were GENIUS…and that nobody else got. I wish now that I had kept a list of all of those potential, but not quite there, story titles. Not to actually name a book that, but to make an art piece or a list on the wall to have something to laugh at when I suddenly run into a wall of thirty foot deep writer’s blocks.

However, I do have a few names already tossed out for the newest work in progress. While I don’t know the real name of this book yet, I have been calling it “Dragon on the Sea”. So far, I’ve thrown out a few other titles that were even less likely to succeed than this one. Things such as, “Undertow Dragons”, “Scales in the Sea,” “Seafoam Dragon,” and, my personal favorite, “That’s Dragon, with an Arrrrr.”

I think they all have merit, and certainly make me giggle, but I don’t see everyone looking at the book at immediately saying “Oh, I want that!” or, “hehehe, Pirate Dragons right? YES!” So the quest continues…although I may have to actually paint that last title over my work station soon.

My question to you is this…do you start with a name in mind? Do you randomly assign a title just to have one? Or do you wait and let the story tell you what its name is? What are your thoughts and suggestions on this quest? Help me out guys because the good Lord knows I don’t have a clue!

Until next time, Have A Blessed Day!

2 thoughts on “Book titles: How do you know when it’s right, and when it’s just you?

  1. There are a lot of ways to go about coming up with a title. One method I use is to write out lists of adjectives, nouns, and verbs that describe your book. Next, try different combinations of the words. Hope this helps!

    • Thanks! That’s actually how I came up with Dragon on the Sea. The problem is that it doesn’t seem to be the correct title for the book but I need to use the word “Dragon” and preferably have it “on” or “in” or “around” something :/

      Maybe I’ll know better once I get past this phase of writer’s block…I hope!

      I love the comment, it is a great way to go about things!

Leave a Reply

