Aside

Generation Imagination

Here is an interesting fact about myself that I had completely forgotten about: According to my parents, I had imaginary friends that used to get me in trouble. These friends would make huge messes and play in areas that I wasn’t allowed to play in…and then I would have to clean up and apologize because they couldn’t do it for themselves.

A little over twenty years later, my first Young Adult novel was finished, and there were my friends again! Apparently my imaginary friends when I was three or four, and the voices in my head now belong to the same family of…wait for it…DRAGONS!

I now have two published novels, one in editing, and one currently in the early first draft stages, all about this group of dragons and their incredible story. So now whenever my fifteen month old daughter hoots at me or tells me the monkey did it, I smile (usually) and tell her the same thing my parents told me, “they’re your guests in your house so you have to pick up after them,” and I dream of the day that the little monkey girl gets old enough to help me write my next children’s story or picture book. Isn’t Imagination a wonderful tool?

May your imaginary friends never desert you, may your imagination always run free, and may you be blessed today and every day.

http://www.amazon.com/Elizabeth-S-Tyree/e/B00B7PGMYU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Leave a Reply

