My life

I am a single mother. I do not receive child support, my child has never met the ‘other side’, and probably will never knowingly meet them. This is not how I imagined things would go. I never thought my fiancé would deny us and beg to have nothing to do with his daughter, but these things happened. I never thought that I would be living in my parent’s house at the age of 28, chasing a toddler and struggling to set up an online persona for my writing and my handmade items store; but this my life. I am blessed in that I have somewhere to be, a family that took us in when I couldn’t support myself, let alone an infant, on the salary I made as a waitress. I don’t know how other women do it with no support at all.

Yes there are days when I worry that my daughter will have problems because she only has one parent. Yes there are times when I wish I had someone to take a turn with at 2am because my toddler is breaking in new teeth. Yes, every day is a struggle, even now when I am ‘used’ to being a single mother living with her parents (can you ever really get used to that??).

However, everything happens for a reason…right? We now live back in the town where I attended high school and parts of college. I have new friends, and some old, that I can turn to, whereas the ‘friends’ I had when I got pregnant have all but turned their backs on me because I’m ‘tied down’ with a baby now. I haven’t been on a date in over two years, probably closer to three, but that isn’t really important in the grand scheme of things. Not when I have my sweet baby to snuggle me while she doesn’t take a nap.

Now maybe you know a little more about me. I hope that any of you who may need an ear, know that you can at least leave a comment for me!

May all of your frustrations lead to great accomplishments, and may you always remember that problems lead to solutions, and pain can lead to hope. Have a Blessed Day!

10 thoughts on “My life

  1. Cindi says:

    Just remember that the one CONSTANT is GOD! Hang in there. I will pray for you and your little one. I have known other single moms who have raised terrific kids. I have no doubt your little girl will be just fine. Love you!!

    • She is an amazing little elf 🙂 I’m sure that she will do wonderfully and I pray that she stays the happy girl that is now. I’m just overly critical of myself and overly protective of her! Thank you Ms. Cindi, I love you too!

  2. bturvaville says:

    Life can deal come cruel unusual punches many times. When it does its your faith in God and your friends and family that will pick you up and carry you through. Remember what Christ says in Matthew 6:34.

    “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

    And also when things get tough for me I look as well to my favorite scripture 1 Corinthians 10:13

    “No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.”

    • Thanks Turbo. I often find myself in the scriptures when I begin to get frustrated or upset. You’ve heard the saying, “sometimes you’re the bug, sometimes the windshield?” Well, some days I feel like the woman…some days I’m the water 😉

  3. I do know one thing. You have a great family. I love your family so much. I grew up with your dad at Church. Your Grandfather married my husband and I. I will tell you and story I know now you feel. I was a single mom with two kids. I lived with my parents too. I had no skills to take care of me or my two kids. I did a lot of praying to God to send me some one who would love me and my kids as his own. God answered my prayers. I have been married 20 years now. Keep praying and reading your Bible. God will answer your prayers.

    • Thank you Ms. Brenda! Right now I’m working on getting my online business(es) going because I can’t go substitute with no one to watch the kid, and no job openings that would provide me the income to pay a day care AND do anything else. If I had a minimum wage job, I would literally only be able to pay for day care and possibly not even that. But my family is super supportive and are allowing me to chase my dreams, at least for the moment.

      I do pray everyday, just about the same prayer you prayed and I have no doubt that God will provide me with whatever answers he sees fit!

  4. Bennetta says:

    Beth , you have always been strong in family and I know that they will always be there to help if you should need it. I have faith that you.will make it through and be better for it . I am always here if you need a shoulder or sounding board . Luv-ya !

  5. You make me smile. I admire you for all the hard work you do while raising that precious daughter. You have wonderful parents and I know they are happy to have you in their house…even if it is hard to be 28 and still living at home. You know God has a plan.

    • I make “Auntie Susan” smile!! Woohoo! *happy dance!* Seriously though, I don’t work nearly as hard as I could have had to. I am truly blessed in loving what I do, so that it doesn’t seem like I’m working much…which makes sense since I don’t get paid much, if at all….hmmm.
      I do know that God definitely has a plan and that I will probably end up mentoring more teens/college aged students who need an ear and a shoulder…although I’m hoping that I wind up being one of those ‘hope’ stories on VH1. You know the ones: “She was a broke, single mother with no where to turn, until one day Steven Spielberg was cruising through the free books on Kindle and found hers….”

      Either way, its all up to HIM. I just hope he lets me know what to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

