Red Carpet MisIdentity

This past Saturday I had the wonderful opportunity to attend the performance of the Red Carpet Honor Band…a big deal for the band students of NW Oklahoma, and they did beautifully. While there, listening to the Jr. High B band rock out superhero themes (My favorite song out of all three performances, truth be told), I was inspired to write the following short paragraph. I don’t know if this will be used in a book or short story later on, or if I will continue to let it stand on its own. Either way, it happened.

It wasn’t my friend. It was some junior high child with the right build and a slouch. That chin rubbing idiosyncrasy that only the one man had ever possessed? The first meager sprouting of a baby faced beard.

But, he played the trombone, so that was solidarity enough…I can’t believe I’m that old now.

Leave a Reply

