Short Stories

“And so he went to the mall.

THE END

 

Jessica looked down at the short stack of neatly written pages in front of her and proceeded to drop her head (a bit harder than necessary) onto the table.

“Why did I agree to this?” she groaned, softly banging her forehead against the wooden edge a few times, “I am TERRIBLE at writing short stories!”

“I’m sure it’s not all that bad.” Kayla soothed from her place on the couch, never once taking her eyes off of the newest episode of Bake Me.

“Not that bad?” Jessica shuddered, “Maybe not for a grade school beginner, but I am a professional. I hold myself to a higher standard, and this is nowhere near good enough!”

“I’m not whining,” Jess whined, “I was just saying that….”

“She thinks her short story is stupid,” Kayla supplied, “For the, what is it now? Fifth week in a row.”

“That’s not true, I liked the story I wrote two weeks ago,” Jessica countered, getting up to help herself to her big brother’s Chinese takeout. “The problem is that none of the endings are any good.”

“So work on fixing that part,” Michael offered oh so helpfully, reaching up to dislodge the ink pen that was swinging from his sister’s disheveled hair. Slapping at his hand and grimacing, Jess tossed a fortune cookie to Kayla before stretching out on the floor.

“I try but somehow I just start adding new things,” she munched for a moment, “I think my inability to write short stories may merely be proof that each and every short story secretly wants to grow up into a novel.”

“Then after you finish the challenge, you’ll have plenty of outlines to rewrite into new novels,” Kay smiles and snagged the last wonton. “Until then, maybe you should just concentrate on fixing the endings.”

“You may be right,” Jessica conceded thoughtfully, reaching over to snag the ever present crisp lined paper and spare colored ink pen off of the television cart. “Let’s see…”

“Cashed paycheck in his hand and a gleam in his eye, Jed set out for the mall.

Destiny awaited him, in the shape of a guitar, and one doesn’t mess with destiny.”

“Better,” Jessica tilted her head to the side and stared at her work for a moment, “I still think it wants to be a novel though.”

Nothing else was said about it as Jessica was too busy ducking away from flying fortunes to worry or whine much more.

Leave a Reply

