Randomness: Lazy OCD

I have what I like to refer to as a lazy form of obsessive compulsiveness. Now, what I mean is that while someone with full blown OCD must do pretty much EVERYTHING in a certain way or for a certain number/amount of times, my issues are more focused on things that I care about and, of course, picture placement (really people, it isn’t that difficult to center items and make sure they hang straight!).

For example, my books and movies are painstakingly organized to my own system and I have miniature panic attacks if they get moved around out of order. On the other hand, my clothes are lucky to get folded and placed in the correct drawer after washings.

My flute and music are in order and well maintained, my pens and craft items are set up specifically, and my old notebooks and journals are lined up according to year AND content. I count the number of steps I take between oft traversed areas, the number of steps up or down anywhere, and I kiss my daughter three times, every time. However, my refrigerator is often an unorganized mess of forgotten left overs and unused fruit. (I do my best to fight my disorder…obviously I win sometimes).

Do you have pieces of your life that you must have ‘just so’ or you freak out? Do you obsess over things like that? Or do you have full out OCD?? What steps do you have to take each day so that you feel like everything is in order?

One thing I have to do now that I’ve started it, is to end posts with this blessing: May you have a Blessed Day and may your compulsions lead to great materials!

Don’t let that stop you from commenting with your own stories!

Leave a Reply

