Wrecked Wednesday

There have been numerous times in my now 29 years (my birthday was a few days ago and I’m still not sure that I’m this old. I mean, honestly, wasn’t I 22 a few months ago? Anyway, not important…back on track now…numerous times…) that I have made mistakes and wanted to rip up the page, tear out the row of stitches, or scream in frustration when I couldn’t.

People look at you oddly when you do things like that. You get asked questions like, ‘are you ok’, ‘are you sure its wrong? it looks fine to me,’ and other such banality that generally only serves to make things worse in my head. But what if it was not only allowable, but condoned. What if you were told that instead of trying to be perfect right out of the gate, you should just draw a square stick figure and then tear it up? Well guess what, you can!

Several people have started with the ‘Zentangles’ or flash writing times (anywhere from 5-15 minutes of stream of consciousness writing to get your juices flowing). Think these aren’t for you? Need a little help getting started with something else? Check out the “Wreck this” Series by author and artist Keri Smith (here is a link to her Amazon.com site http://www.amazon.com/Keri-Smith/e/B001JRZIY6/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_4?qid=1392243306&sr=1-4)

This series is fun, interesting, and just a little zany…pretty much how I like things!

2 thoughts on “Wrecked Wednesday

Leave a Reply

