Lifestyle Change

 

 

Today is day two of my new exercise and diet life style change…or it will be if I ever get to the exercise part. A little over a week ago, I found out that the diet I was on was actually causing me more problems and not helping me lose weight. I’ve spent the intervening time researching what I need to do for a full on lifestyle change. So now I’m back on carbs and sadly off of fats. Do you know how hard it is to find a fat free juicy steak?? Good thing I love sea food!

Anyway, I’m trying to start some circuit training and three days a week I will be doing the Couch25K program. I am actually looking forward to being able to run…I’ve never actually been able to run more than a block at a time (probably less if I’m telling the truth), but I really want to add some kettle bell in as well. Are the soft exercise balls the same as the kettle bells?

As you can see, I’m a little scattered. The only routine I’ve ever stuck to for exercise (not counting when I worked as a carhop) was the two weeks that I kept up with Hip Hop Abs. But I am determined and I have a new mantra: I WILL learn to RUN! I WILL BE FIT!! I WILL BE HEALTHY!! But…I don’t have to do it all today! So maybe this time will be different…no, this time WILL be different.

Anyone else out there working on this? If you have any suggestions, hints, recipes, etc. I would love to hear them!

4 thoughts on “Lifestyle Change

  1. “But…I don’t have to do it all today!” <—Exactly 🙂 I love that you said this! It's a huge step mentally for people to just relax and take things one step at a time, even if that step is backwards (which happens to even the craziest of us). The backwards steps make the forward steps more rewarding, and sustainable… Good luck!

    • Thank you! What an elegant way to say it1 “the backward steps make the forward steps more rewarding and sustainable”
      Today was actually a step backwards because my toddler had an off day…which means no nap time for her and no exercise for me. I repeated the mantra to myself several times!!

  2. What was the plan you were following that was backfiriing? I am the person voted least likely to jog in high school. Now I do four miles a day. I started by making a deal with myself. I was “allowed” to walk up all inclines. I only ran downhill and perfectly level terrains. It worked for me and after about six weeks, I could run all of it. Also, seafood is really filling and you get to eat large portions for very little calories. Good volume (especially with shrimp!) Good luck. You’re a great mother to take care of yourself for your kids even though the kids are what makes this whole thing hard. I know….I have six.
    take care,
    Stephanie

    • I was actually on the low carb diet but it was messing with my sugars and since I had some other health issues become abruptly hazardous due to the silly nexplanon implant (I gained about 100 pounds in a matter of a month or so) I had to wind up switching.
      My daughter is the reason I get up in the morning…of course, I now get up three hours earlier but sometimes she takes a nap!
      six…wow. Just…wow. I’m fairly certain that I’m not having any more. At least not unless the next one can leap out of my head fully grown (or at least fully potty and utensil trained) like Athena, and not have to be born the regular way.

Leave a Reply

