Random Facts About Myself

Thank you, Adrian Sanchez.

I appreciate the nomination for a Liebster Blog Award. However, I don’t know much about this award and I don’t know anyone (other than us and my father) who has less than 200 followers on their blog. So here are 11 random facts – but I have no nominations of my own. Thank you anyway.

 

liebster-award-rules

 

 

11 Random Facts About Myself:

  1. I am addicted to breath mints.
  2. I self-published because I entered a contest that required you to set it all up anyway, now I blog and write for Yahoo! Contributor Network
  3. My father, Dr. Wilson Jay Tyree, was one of my college professors…and he teaches there again!
  4. My daughter (19 months) can put my 12 year old Rottweiler in time out…and he stays!
  5. I watch Curious George, Tinkerbell, and My Little Pony every single day…
  6. I may like My Little Pony more than my daughter does.
  7. I dream about writing.
  8. When I say that the voices in my head write the stories, I’m not lying. My characters become so real to me that speak their own stories while I’m writing.
  9. I have participated in five NaNoWriMos and won twice.
  10. I collect rocks and semi-precious gemstones.
  11. I don’t like to eat sweets very much anymore…my idea of dessert is a nice, cold watermelon!

Here are Adrian’s questions for me:

I’m answering your questions here. Thanks for the nomination…I did the 11 Random facts part in my post and forgot to answer your questions :/

What are you reading right now?
I am still working on reading ‘The Book Thief’…for some reason I’ve read the same section four times so far.

How do you choose which books you want to read?
I like to be kept up to date (well…usually a year or two behind) on the middle grade and YA books as that is what I write, but to tell you the truth my usual method is basically just happily wandering through the book section and sniffing until something catches my eye.

What is your writing process?
For the blog, I have certain days that I try to do certain posts on – Wednesdays are “What are you Reading” and Sundays are the short story for the week. Other than that, I get inspired or someone asks for a topic and I write it out. I’m not terribly nailed down. For my novels I tend to write until I can’t anymore, and then go again later. Either way, I write with colored pen and paper first and type it up later.

Which author do you admire and why?
Honestly, I admire any author. It takes hard work and dedication to be an author, otherwise everyone would do it. I may not like what you write and/or I might hate the way you did it…but there will always be something that I admire. (For example: I think the Hunger Games were poorly written, but I LOVE the premise. I just think the thought process and characters could have been worked through a bit more)

What is your favorite place to write and why?
I love to write outdoors, especially by the water. Lakes and Oceans are beautiful, serene and teeming with life. They have endless sources of inspiration if you need it and are great for distractions when you need those. Since I live in the Mid-West…I like the converted choir lost that I use to write in…or will when its done.

What books are you looking forward to this year?
That Lestat book looks great! I’m not sure what else is slated for this year, but I look forward to all the new arrivals so that I can discover them!

When did you first start writing?
I can’t equivocally answer this question because I honestly cannot remember when I started…apparently I’ve been telling my stories since I was born.

What is the first book you can remember reading?
The first book I remember reading is a Nancy Drew book with my mom.

Have you ever taking any writing classes?
I have not, although I have recently been looking in to getting a Masters degree in Creative Writing.

Who is your favorite literary character?
I’m not sure I can choose just one. Usually it is a toss up between the Mad Hatter and Merry from The Lord of the Rings. Although other days I prefer Ents and occasionally Agatha Christie or Sherlock Holmes win…ask me easier questions!

What is your favorite classic book?
Again…WHY ARE YOU TOTURTING ME?? Its possible that The Hobbit is. Or it might be The Adventures of Winnie the Pooh. One of the Trixie Beldens…Pride and Prejudice…define classic for me 😀

3 thoughts on “Random Facts About Myself

  1. Cindi says:

    I wish more people were addicted to breath mints!! A 19 month old putting a huge dog in “time out”, now that is a children’s book in the making!! I would take a big slice of watermelon (especially the kind they grow in NC…best I have ever had) over chocolate!! I am glad, but not surprised you wont two writing awards!! Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

