Looking for Ugly Bugs….OR, Ms. Tyree it’s staring at me!

Yesterday my science classes went on an ugly bug walk. Along the way we discovered many things about ourselves and each other. My prissy princesses ran amuck to grab the ugliest, nastiest bugs they could find while some of my more snips and snails type boys squealed and ran from a locust. I, on the other hand, caught a golf ball. His is name is Frederick Marie and my Dad made fast friends with him ๐Ÿ˜‰

During the last class hour a woman came from the newspaper to snap a few pictures and copy down a line or two about just exactly what it was I had them doing (for the record, there will be microscopes and a contest involved!). I figured we would wind up in the middle of the Sunday paper so it was much to my surprise, and many others’ delight, that we were a featured front page story in today’s paper. The students are thrilled with it and I am super proud of them!

Maybe some day my picture in the paper will look like I’m smart…

For now though, I have to go…the praying mantis keeps looking at me and I’m having flash backs to season 1 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer! *shudders*

IMG_0379.JPG

IMG_0348.JPG

IMG_0341.JPG

IMG_0377.JPG

7 thoughts on “Looking for Ugly Bugs….OR, Ms. Tyree it’s staring at me!

  1. Cindi says:

    Wish I could ship you some of our bugs. We have some I have never seen in my life so must have something to do with living right next the water or the horrible humidity they have here. Looks like you are enjoying being a teacher and the kids are enjoying you. Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

