Short Story Sunday – 3 days late

I know, I know…I’m late again. The good news is that I wrote this somewhere close to the time that I was supposed to. Of course, it doesn’t really count if I don’t type it up and post it right?? Ugh…Its here now so you’ll just have to forgive me (Or at least pretend to for my poor bruised sense of self worth).

I present to you, with no further ado, The Ad (dundundun) 

“Oh Billy,” Taryn clucked and shook her head at the unconscious man. “If only you had behaved!”

Hearing Billy’s doctor talking to a patient in the next room, Taryn gave Billy’s fingers on last squeeze and the tubing around his arms one last thump before sliding out of the room. Walking briskly through the hospital to the parking lot, the fiery red head flipped up her jacket’s hood and pressed the #3 speed dial button on her concealed cell phone.

Gotta love hoodie headphones she mused to herself, waiting for her call to connect.

“Thank you for calling the NorthWest News! How may I help you?” The chipper voice sparkled across the air, causing Taryn to grin before responding.

“Hey there Ms. Perl! Its Anna Maria again…I think it might be time to bust out my ad.”

“Oh Dear,” Perl sighed, “I had such high hopes for this one too!”

“So did I, but you know what they say…Move on and Climb Up…or something like that!” Taryn trilled laughter, causing a nearby squirrel to jump into frenzy panic mode with his armful of nuts.

“Every week or two,” Perl mumble half-jokingly before adding her own, more subdued, laughter to the mix.

“Oh hush,” Taryn rolled her eyes and silently reminded herself that while “Taryn” was an OCD adrenaline junky dominant personality, “Anna Maria” was a bubbly sweet Southern woman just looking for a friend to exercise her love of the outdoors with.

“Got you all set up sweet pea!” Ms. Perl announced, “And we have a special going on, so its half-priced this week.”

“I’ll send it on over,” Taryn promised. “Thank you Ms. Perl!”

“You could just bring it in,” Ms. Perl wheedled, “We haven’t seen you in a while you know.”

Taryn grimaced at the thought, that would mean a clothes change, a wig she hadn’t brushed recently, and even that horrid prosthetic eye make-up.

“I’m so sorry MS. Perl, but I am just swamped at work all this week!”

“Oh well…*sigh* don’t be such a stranger dear!” Ms. Perl disappointedly signed off and left Taryn to send over an apologization coffee with the personal ad’s payment.

Two Days later the NortWest News landed on Janine Prezzio’s doorstop.

Hmm…’Thrill seeker looking for a partner. Must be willing to hold my lines while I soar.’

If this doesn’t get my brother out the house, I don’t know what will!”

Leave a Reply

