Middle School is WorseThan Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff

Middle School is Worse Than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff

Written By: Jennifer L. Holm and Elicia Castaldi

I purchased Middle School is Worse than Meatloaf on a whim at our school’s first book fair this year. I suppose I was just excited to be back in the classroom and wanting to find a few things that could beef up my class library. Meatloaf seemed to fit the bill…and then I read it. This book takes the concept of ‘show, don’t tell’ to a whole new level!

A Year Told Through Stuff is amazingly insightful and I feel as though I really got to understand the core of the main character, Ginny. By seeing notes written between Ginny and her family, friends, and teachers; as well as mini-journal type entries I feel more emotionally connected to the story.

I also feel as though students who dislike reading will be able to build ‘word stamina’ enjoyably since this is laid out to look like a brightly made scrapbook, as opposed to the ‘normal’ look of a novel.

On the whole, I loved this set up almost as much as the story! I give this book 5 out of 5 dragons.

Leave a Reply

