‘Lick Them! No, check the internet!’

IMG_0836.JPG

IMG_0834.JPG

I think the title says it all…and all 4 classes of 5th graders said something similar today. How would you collect data to prove your point? Check the internet. Teacher wants you to use something more tactile…LICK IT! Makes perfect sense, right? Right!

So what is it that society is portraying to our kids? I can’t tell you exactly why they want to lick an igneous rock and a fake flower…but the addition of iPads or laptops to every class and the fact that over half of my 80 students own nicer smart phones than me might have something to do with their responses.

You want to know the worst part? They don’t feel the need to READ and learn to RESEARCH so my “What are YOU Reading Wednesday” turned into ‘just read what’s on the board…the words are spelled correctly there! And no, modern technology is not available!”

Someone, please, tell me that you’ve managed to write copiously and read some amazing works of art. Revive my hope!

Have a blessed night.

5 thoughts on “‘Lick Them! No, check the internet!’

  1. Cindi says:

    Don’t even get me started on e-books. They are great, but I am dying a little inside too. I mean what about the feel and smell of paper. While I am a little shocked about the “lick it” I am very shocked that 80 5th graders have smartphones. I am assuming they are 10-11 years old? I guess I fail to see the need for a child to have a smartphone before high school. Ok, so maybe a cell phone in case of an emergency, but come on. What do these kids have to look forward to? Ok, rant over!! Love you blog, Beth. Write on!!!

Leave a Reply

