How did December get here?

I looked at the calendar earlier and it told me that today is December 1st but I’m not sure how that happened. I have pages of handwritten notes that testify to me and they say I still have half of NaNo to go…plenty of time to write and get it typed up. I guess I lost those two weeks (and their short stories…oops) because here we are, December. The month of hyperactivity, bludgeoning over good sales, and my mother screaming “LIGHTS” as we drive down the road.

We have 3 full weeks until Christmas break, 1 week before my friends’ Harry Potter wedding shower (I’ll post pictures if their presents from us afterwards…they’re awesome!), 1 week and 1 day before the Bible Chair Christmas party, and various mind melting, class and work interrupting activities to keep us busy in the mean time. At least I can torture my students with a mixture of Christmas and Halloween instrumental rock so they never know what’s coming next. *insert maniacal laughter here.

What are you all up to? Did you win NaNo and, as a winner, are you now basking in the afterglow? Did you somehow lose weeks as I did, so that you have no idea how many words you wrote? Are you caught in the vicious Christmas cycle and therefore have no time for such things as books or word counts? I want to know!

Leave a message and have a Marvelous Monday!

IMG_0983.JPG

On another note…our ClassroomCalendar seems to have been a last minute participant in No Shave November…look at that beard!

5 thoughts on “How did December get here?

  1. November really did rush by and I’m getting the sense that December will do the same. I have my newest book coming out soon, which will take up the next 2 weeks. At least I hope that’s how long it takes to get everything ready. This doesn’t even include birthdays, Christmas, Hanukkah, 2 weeks of break for the kid, editing, Read Tuesday next week, and those are only the things I can think of. I really hope 2015 isn’t as busy.

    • Take all of that (minus the new book, add in typing up the two I worked on for NaNo and minus Hanukkah but plus 3 family Christmas days), plus all of the extra school day performances etc.

      I hope your book does well and I hope that 2015 is much slower in velocity but that book sales pick up!

Leave a Reply

