Salads in a Mason Jar?

Ok, I’m not usually one to blog specifically about my food. In fact, I’ve been on here over a year and this is maybe the third time I’ve specifically set out to write about food. That’s just not my niche, per se, though I do love to eat!

But I had to come on and tell you…I gave in to peer pressure. I know, I know, that’s not how it’s supposed to go. Just say No! And walk away…or change the conversation and distract people with my winning smile. Well, neither worked and I’ve been seeing more and more discussion of all things Mason Jar related (anyone else still just want to call them canning jars and make pickles? No, just me? Ok then…). Among those things have been an uprising of Mason Jar Food.

Snack sticks dipped in dressing and sealed tightly in a jar for later, legumes and lettuce piled in pleasing rows, and even full on salads stacked bottom to top and apparently retaining crispness for 5 full days! Some of these amazing concoctions were even *gasp* decorated!

As you can see, I didn’t go anywhere near that far. In fact, I almost gave up on the idea when I realized that there were no eggs in the fridge, so I couldn’t put any in my salad, which meant that I couldn’t follow that recipe. In fact, I was amazingly close to deciding that not having lunch tomorrow was a good price to pay for a quick Netflix bender before bed.

However, I snatched up a pickle jar and got to work.

.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0f3/57584676/files/2014/12/img_1105.jpg

Not only am I using an old (clean!) pickle jar instead of a new Mason jar, but I also *DOUBLE GASP* did not wind up following any of the other super healthy and disgustingly good for you recipes I found listed for these things. One little step at a time I suppose.

Mine looks pretty good, though I was out of a few things I typically put in salad (like cucumbers and boiled eggs) and I’m looking forward to trying to tomorrow.

Have you ever tried one of these? Got any Mason Jar recipes you absolutely love? I’m on a health kick so you’ve got about 7.5 hours to throw your two cents in before I’m lazy again!

Have a blessed night/day/in between!

6 thoughts on “Salads in a Mason Jar?

  1. Cindi says:

    I have seen where people make soup mixes and dessert mixes in mason jars, but hadn’t hear the salad idea. I may try that in the new year. I usually go home for lunch so I don’t pack one, but it may be nice to have it ready in the refrigerator. I’ll try it in January and let you know. Happy healthy eating!!

Leave a Reply

