Narcissistic Joy

I want to share something with you that just happened in my classroom. However, I want to first warn you that the title of this post is not misleading in the least…I am filled to overflowing with a narcissistic glee!

You see, I knew coming in to this job that my writing time would suffer and that through said suffering my book sales would probably be down. I am not a famous author, it is enough for me (for now) to share my words and lessons in a small environment and over my blog. However, I have 80 students who know I am an author and who enjoy hearing the way I would write things. That is a pretty great ego bump in and of itself.

Now we come to today…when I had to tell a student to please but his book away and pay attention to class. As he put the book away I caught a glimpse of the cover and had to stop a moment. Because that bright purple cover had the picture I took on the front, and my face on the back. Then I had to pinch myself, literally, because I had just told a student to pay attention to my lesson and put away a book I had written. THE BOOK, in fact. THE BOOK that started me on this path. Yes, I had written other books, other children’s stories, other short stories, but Dragon on My Neck pushed me further and started me developing one of my true loves: The Stone Dragon Saga.

So let me bask for another minute or two and just repeat for you:

I HAD TO TELL A STUDENT TO PUT ME UP SO HE COULD PAY ATTENTION TO ME! I HAD A STUDENT PAYING ATTENTION TO MY WRITTEN WORDS INSTEAD OF MY SPOKEN WORDS. That is a heady experience ladies and gentlemen, a heady and amazing experience. I truly hope you all get to experience something like that in your lives. *PHEW* Ok, I think I’m done for now. At least until the car ride home…my mother and aunt are trapped with me for over an hour’s commute! *cue evil laughter here*

THE BOOK

THE BOOK:www.amazon.com/author/Elizabeth-S-Tyree

ww

Leave a Reply

