New Addition

In the spirit of my ever present quest to find new inspiration, new writing tools, and new decorations for my areas of the home (and my family remodeling our old church building home), we went to an open house/estate sale today. (did I say NEW? Yeah RIGHT!) Among old dishes, old furniture, and VHS tapes was an unassuming brown box with a twine handle. The tag said $25 and I walked away with a heavy heart…My Great-Grandmother bought everything at a garage sale for a quarter or NO DEAL (to hear her tell it anyway) and I inherited some of those genes.

My new Toy! (ok, Decoration...)

   My new Toy! (ok, Decoration…)

I told my mother that I just couldn’t do the $25 but as they were garage sale surfing later, would she please keep an eye out for one at a cheaper cost. I’ve always wanted a little brown box like this. A few minutes later she and Dad came back out of the house and Dad unceremoniously plopped this bad boy into my lap with a “Merry Christmas” before closing my car door again. It seems the $25 came down to $10 when they bought a large couch and painting as well! To say I’m excited would be an understatement. I’m decorating with this sucker…I have an antique entry table with little spindly legs that will look GREAT holding this in the writer’s loft.

Oh wait, I forgot the best part about this particular case:

ISN'T IT THE BEE'S KNEES??

ISN’T IT THE BEE’S KNEES??

It comes with a retro type writer! I’m seriously considering checking into finding a roll or two of typewriter tape for this guy so I can do a few short stories on him for good luck and the experience of my words slapping themselves onto the paper one swift letter at a time! I geeked out hard and it doesn’t look like the nerdy grin is going away any time soon. You know what, I wouldn’t have it any other way! I’ve been a writer, bibliophile, and nerd my entire life. Why stop now when it’s finally getting good?

I'm So SO SO SO SO SO Excited!

I’m So SO SO SO SO SO Excited!

Do you have any little quirks, retro decorations, or other pieces that you’ve always wanted or already have? TELL ME ABOUT THEM! Slap a picture in the comments if you want to…I LOVE hearing from you!

May your days be filled to the brim with anything you might need in them. May inspiration knock on your door and refuse to leave. May the sun shine brightly upon your path and lead you to your typeset!

2 thoughts on “New Addition

Leave a Reply

