Writer’s Quote Wednesday – ESTyree style

This morning I discovered something fun and thought provoking…a blog post sharing quotes about writing, from writers. Silver Threading, a funny and talented blogger, posted a quote from Diana Gabaldon (The author of the Outlander series). You can find her post HERE. She also called other bloggers to post their favorite quotes about writing. So, since we do little in moderation when it comes to writing, I have brought to you of my favorite writing quotes. You’re welcome.

May they bring you inspiration, understanding, and maybe even a giggle.

If you want to join in on this awesome Quote ‘challenge’, remember to title your post “Writer’s Quote Wednesday” so we can all find you!

“Of course its happening in your head, but why on earth should that mean it is not real?” I put two Albus Dumbledore/J.K. Rowling quotes here because they are both things that authors need to remember. As an author I need to know that it is not only ‘ok’ to be in my world while I write, but it is probably actually better. I couldn’t get my story out otherwise.

 

I feel these two are mostly self explanatory…if you want to be a writer BE A WRITER! Treat like you would being a CEO or a Teacher. It is a JOB or it is nothing and you don’t write, you take anti-psychotic medication and ignore the stories trying to come out.

This one…ahh, this one rings very true with me. This is a quote that I feel embodies my approach to writing, speaking, and anything else with words. I have a Pinterest Board dedicated to words, I feel the correct combination of words could make a can of tuna sing itself to the cash register. Ever wonder why most of the stories of fairies/witches/etc include ‘magic spells’ and ‘chants’? This is it…words are power, the words invoke the feeling.

This…just this. Joss Whedon has written so many amazing things…more than any of us will ever hear of, I’m sure. He is the man behind the cult classic movie and television series “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and the spin-offs. There are still comic books and graphic novels going from those! Now he’s bringing us the Avengers…this man is amazing. So to see this quote from someone like that really brings it back to us. In the end, in the twilight hours as gray sneaks in, we are all just someone with a pen, a keyboard, and an idea.

I’m just going to leave this here for you and back away slowly. Gentlemen, you know you secretly want T-Hiddles to tell you this too.

6 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday – ESTyree style

  1. Thank you! What an awe inspiring post full of some of the best writer’s quotes in the world!! You are truly amazing. Thank you for joining in. You have a fabulous sense of humor and I enjoy your writing! ❤

Leave a Reply

