Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Consistently

Welcome to another Writer’s Quote Wednesday! Want to know more about this weekly phenomenon? Check out Silver Threading’s wonderful post: here.

This week I want to talk to you through quotes about writing consistently. I have to admit here, right off the bat, that I am not the best one to be in charge of this topic. My writing schedule can be amazingly erratic and I am often impressed if I get even a sentence or two completed in a day. However, I have been thinking a lot recently about the need to be more consistent in my daily scheduling.

For example, I always make a list in my mind of the things that I need to finish during a day and a tentative time table. I invariably wind up out of order, out of time, and with a list of items left un-done. Making a hard copy of the to-do list usually helps…if I give myself the time to write it. The problem with that is I am often doing several things at once. I don’t manage time well I suppose, especially since I’ve been writing for most of my life and should have already figured out my high creativity times, etc. But as I slowly work on getting it together, I like to think of the following quotes and try to model my routine after these wise words.

the ‘wait and see what happens’ part gets me every time!

pretty sure he had a SCHEDULE all bold and capitalized letters for him…wowsers

Make sure you Make Time to do what Makes you HAPPY!

This is so sadly true! I sometimes find myself having to FORCE writing time, or I don’t do it at all. And, let’s be honest here, I love writing and maybe 5 people. MAYBE. the rest I deal with because I can’t just live in a bungalow with a tower, my rottweiler, 2 cats, and the kid. I know…I don’t have the budget for it and you have to talk to people at the grocery store or they think you’re creepy.

And Finally:

If you don’t write consistently, then the strong desire and passion you have for writing will wither. It is with the watering of the words that you make novels grow. Leaving a sparse baby sentence alone in the glare of life’s rays with cause it to wither and hide away, deep in the soul where you may never find it again.

Leave a Reply

