Author Interview: Tabitha Peterson

Welcome everyone to another fabulous Author Interview! I was recently able to ‘catch up’ with Tabitha Peterson, author of such hits as Pegasus the Pet Hen and Mr. Rocket the Rescued Pony. Let’s get down to it:

Author Tabitha Peterson

Author Tabitha Peterson

Thank you for joining us today. Let’s start out with the basics.

  1. What name do you write under?

Tabitha Peterson. (My married name)

2. Is this a pseudonym?

No it is not.

3. Do you use more than one name when you write?

Nope.

4. Tabitha, you currently have 6 or so books listed on your website. Will you please tell us about the first time you realized that you were an author or were going to be an author.

Well, in 2009 one of my books, (Daughter of the Unicorn) decided to take over my life, so I figured why not get published!

My books like to do that too! Annoying, frustrating, but so much fun. 

  • What genre(s) do you write in, and why?

A range of them actually. Memoir, non-fiction, sci-fi and fantasy (mythology). As to why, well I like to talk about horses, my kid, and unicorns! I just like to talk and books let me yak and yak and…

  • What genres are your favorites to read? Why?

Man that is hard! I tend to like the same genres that I write though many in addition. Similar interest I reckon. Unicorns, horses, horse training, Alaska… many interests!

  • Tell us about your two all-time favorite characters: 1 that you wrote and 1 that someone else wrote.

How do I choose?! Ok, one that I wrote, maybe, possibly the ”rescuer” character named Aspen in Daughter of the Unicorn. One that another author wrote, pure torture. I’d have to hazard a guess at Daneel Olivaw in Issac Asimov’s robot series.

  • There is a lot of controversy about allowing books to be made into movies (especially when they cut or change large portions of the plot). Would you be willing for your books/stories to become a movie? Why or why not?

Yes I most certainly would, as long as I had a say in how much they chopped or changed. As to why, well firstly I’d like to think maybe some of the message in my book(s) might be well received, helpful in some way. And two of course, for publicity and the honor of being chosen. Lastly I’d use it to help my fellow authors.

  • How do you handle writer’s block?

I drink coffee, eat chocolate, muck a horse stall or go horse riding.

I’m sensing a pattern  here…

  • What inspires you?

I have too many ideas anyway, but sometimes music, a movie or horse riding help.

  • How do you respond when people ask what you do, then make that face if you say “I’m an author”?

I haven’t had that face yet! Usually it’s one of pleasant surprise, somewhat akin to if you told them you’re a rocket scientist. For some reason many folks act as though it’s amazing or neat to be an author.

  • Finally, tell us where to go to find you and your lovely titles.
  • Chiron's Honor - available Now!

    Chiron’s Honor – available Now!

http://www.tabithapeterson.com

www.goodreads.com/author/show/13347004.Tabitha_Peterson

https://tabithapetersonbooks.wordpress.com

Thank you for this opportunity to do a Q and A!

No Tabitha…Thank You!

Leave a Reply

