Writer’s Quote Wednesdays – Intensely

Hello, Hello! Welcome to another edition of Writer’s Quote Wednesdays. As always, thank you for dropping by and seeing what I have to offer. If you would like to know more about this fabulous mid-week inspiration kick, check out Silver Threading and her posts on the subject…and then go write your own!

This week I want to talk to you about being INTENSE about your work. Whether you are a writer, a reader, a teacher, a student, or an employee at some corporation, you should be putting a lot into whatever it is you have chosen to do today. Since I choose to write, my intensity needs to flow into the words. The paper should be quivering and, at times like today when I am close to being overwhelmed with my emotions, writing allows me a unique experience in allowing those emotions to swirl, spill, and flow through ink and story. Sometimes the story does not, can not, relay the intensity of your emotional output. That’s ok. In fact, that means you’ve done a good job. Even the mundane can feel intense, loved, frightened, worried, excited…a bowl of cereal can be a vortex of emotion for you, and a milk receptacle for those waiting on the next action. Don’t just skip the mundane to tear screaming agony or aching joy out of yourself to drip onto the page in crazy scenes; allow those things to seep into every pore of your creation so that even the most laid back and typical sentence is written, and read, intensely. with a sense of urgency.

Below are a few of the quotes that remind me of this when I am low on emotion or when I am brimming over with an intense need…these focus me, these center me, and these push me to do what it is I do. I WRITE, darn it, in every situation, in every possible level of emotional output, I WRITE because I live and to do that, the stories must come out. They are the heartbeat on the monitor of my life.

inkwood

This reminds me to keep writing so that others can read the pieces of me that I’ve bled out onto the paper. So that my words may help others, whether it be through the novels, the blogs, or whatever else I might do.

artistofspirit

Life is a Dream…which means that if you learn to do so, you can control it to some small measure. The intensity of life can be managed, rearranged, and preserved.

neruda

Pour everything you have into each and every letter, in each and every word, for each and every sentence, in each and every thing that you write. Do this and you will be continuously revived. Hold back and you will both fall flat.

lighthouses

This gives me peace, hope, and purpose. Much like Project Semi-colon (if you don’t know about them, you should. Check it out: http://www.projectsemicolon.org/ ) I hope to allow my scars to help others. It is a dream that my light shining through the words I lovingly craft will one day help at least one person through whatever they are facing.

While I will, hopefully, never become the villain, I try to keep this in mind and allow those emotions and scars to run rampant while writing mine. They are real, they are important, there are reasons for their treachery. Never forget to write them just as intensely as your heroes or nerdy best friends. Everyone deserves a chance to have their stories told.

While I will, hopefully, never become the villain, I try to keep this in mind and allow those emotions and scars to run rampant while writing mine. They are real, they are important, there are reasons for their treachery. Never forget to write them just as intensely as your heroes or nerdy best friends. Everyone deserves a chance to have their stories told.

I think this says it all.

                       I think this says it all.

Finally, remember to allow yourself to drip through. Random emotions have no place, they must be used, molded, and intensely, intently placed.

Finally, remember to allow yourself to drip through. Random emotions have no place, they must be used, molded, and intensely, intently placed.

I hope that these quotes and my words have combined to give you a nice little boost for the middle of the week, or whenever you read this. This week’s topic was a little darker than normal, perhaps, but something I feel we must remember in whatever we choose to do. We are not Vulcans, devoid of emotion, and so that emotion must go somewhere.

6 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesdays – Intensely

    • When I first read that quote I felt something akin to a ‘click’ in the middle of my core and thought “Oh yes! That’s exactly how it should be described!” That is how I see my stories as I write, how I hope and pray others feel as they read them, and definitely how I feel and see as I read my favorite authors! Some people are just awe inspiring with their insight and with their abilities!
      Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

