Author Interview: Kayla Matt

Thank you everyone for joining us on another segment of Author Interview Fridays. Today I have the great pleasure to present to you the author of what we’re calling ‘hybrid’ novels, Kayla Matt.

8971_1659040297656134_5775674792405435605_n

Thank you for taking the time to participate in this Kayla! Let’s get to it:

Author Interview Questions

  • What name do you write under? Is this a pseudonym? Do you use more than one name when you write?

I usually go by K.Matt. It’s not a pseudonym. But if I did have one, I’m not sure what I’d use.

  • Tell us about the first time you realized that you were an author or were going to be an author.

To be honest, I can’t really pinpoint when, exactly, I’d realized that I was an author. I went to college to become an illustrator, and am still working at that. If I had to choose a time, I’d say that it was sometime in middle school that I started writing more. But I never put much thought into publishing anything until after college.

  • What genre(s) do you write in, and why?

Now this is a loaded question… My work is usually some blend of horror, sci-fi, and urban fantasy. The books themselves are 1st person/present tense, and consist of a combination of prose and graphic novel elements. The reason I stick with this—let’s call it a hybrid—is because I enjoy it. I wish I could say there was more to it than that, but there really isn’t. I enjoy it, and find myself hoping that others do, as well.

  • What genres are your favorites to read? Why?

I’ll go for pretty much anything that’s not romance/erotica. But if I had to pick a favorite, I would say probably fantasy. Usually, I’ve been reading a lot of graphic novels. For those, the same rules tend to apply: nothing too heavy on the romance.

  • Tell us about your two all-time favorite characters: 1 that you wrote and 1 that someone else wrote.

Now this is a hard one… There are a lot of fictional characters out there that I love. And having to choose just one of my own is like trying to tell someone to play favorites with their kids. But here goes!

Out of all characters created by someone else, I think one of my favorites of all time may be Batman. Not a literary character, per se, but the different approaches taken with the character over the past 75+ years interest me. People have gone campy with him, they’ve gone serious… there’s a Batman for pretty much every mindset. He’s been a favorite of mine since I was a kid.

I will accept Batman as a literary character!

As for mine, it’s a toss-up between Travis and Ivy. Travis is my favorite to write. He’s the main narrator of my first three books, and is a half-monkey man with hair longer than any of those around him. His friends and family have probably taken to calling him Rapunzel behind his back, after a certain point. Also, he possesses a strong regenerative ability, accompanied with an insanely high metabolism. Along with all of that is some level of insecurity, some of which concerns his nose, and a lot of it having to do with his childhood.  As for Ivy, she was the first one I’d created, around 13-14 years ago. Telepathic, telekinetic, and has a very unique blood composition that requires her to drink alcohol as opposed to water. She works as an assassin, but greatly enjoys her downtime. And both can veer into smartass territory every so often. So, like I said, it’s sort of a tie between these two.

AprilIllustration27

  • There is a lot of controversy about allowing books to be made into movies (especially when they cut or change large portions of the plot). Would you be willing for your books/stories to become a movie? Why or why not?

 

I think it would all depend on how much input I would get. If someone were insane enough to want to make a movie based on these books, I’d hope they would agree with my vision. I’d definitely want it to be animated. At the same time, I would NOT want it to be geared toward children. Seriously, just no. Of course, the controversy that would likely stem from it would definitely help raise further awareness of it… But no. I’d rather not receive angry letters from someone’s parents.

  • How do you handle writer’s block?

In that case, I usually put on some music, watch cartoons, and grab a snack. Or roleplay with a friend. That generally brings about ideas.

  • What inspires you?

Oh, man…I have a lot of inspiration out there…horror movies, Disney films, animation, the works of Stephen King and Jim Butcher… And comics. Can’t forget comics.

  • How do you respond when people ask what you do, then make that face if you say “I’m an author”?

Oddly enough, it hasn’t really come up. Though I would imagine I would get offended. Usually, they seem to be somewhat interested, and then ask where they can find my books. Which is, of course, some degree of nerve-wracking.

Seriously, apparently the people in my area are the ones that worry about ‘stability’ and ‘money’…or maybe they’re just the ones willing to rudely spout it out to a person they’ve just met.

  • Finally, tell us where to go to find you

My Twitter handle is @MarieTwixie, and my Facebook page for my books is at http://facebook.com/HellBentBookSeries ,where one can find all sorts of artwork and updates pertaining to these books. Both Visions and Retribution can be found on Kindle and in paperback on both Amazon and CreateSpace, and in hardcover on Lulu.com. Book 3: Destruction is currently in the works, and if I can get it finished when I’d like to, it should be up for release around Halloween. Hopefully.

VisionsPaperbackCoverRetributionPaperbackCoverDestructionPaperbackCover

*All images provided by, and property of, Kayla Matt*

Thank you Kayla! We look forward to seeing what you do next.

Remember, if you would like to be featured on an interview here, leave me a message or comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

