Artistic Tuesday – Christina Fehring

Welcome to Artistic Tuesdays! Today’s guest hails from Germany, where she has been a lifelong lover of art. Beginning her career with her maiden name, “Böhnke”, Christina Fehring hasn’t let marriage and a child slow down her artwork. In fact, she uses her life to inspire even more! IMG_20150908_184208

Let’s see what she has to say:

1) How did you get started in illustrations?

I have been drawing for as long as I can remember but I put more effort in it
since my art and german studies at Paderborn University in Germany.

2) Has art been a lifelong passion of yours?

Definitely. Since I can hold a pencil actually!

3) How do you want people to feel when they see what you’ve created?

This depends. My art is either surreal, unusual, having the quality of a dream…or ‘happy’, such as funny or cute looking character design. Thus, want people either get a surreal feeling or simply put a smile on their face.

4) What media do you prefer to draw/create in, and why?

For traditional art I use graphite/coal, ink pens and brushes, watercolors and pastels, mostly of the german brand “Faber Castell”. For digital art I work with Adobe Photoshop.

IMG_20150909_111822
5) What is your creative space/working environment like?

I often work in the living room. Truth is, I like being surrounded by my family when being creative. I also like painting in the garden.

IMG_20150904_112641

I love to work outside in a garden setting. Such inspiration for many forms or creativity. 

6) What is something new that you’ve either learned or noticed recently?

I learned that it is sometimes more important to actually finish an illustration or painting than to generate more and more ideas without being able to carry out all the projects in my mind due to time limit.

That is a fine line to have to try to walk! I know a lot of artists and authors with scattered lines and remnants of ideas they’ve never finished but LOVED when they started.

7) Tell us about your two all-time favorite pictures: Please include 1 thing that you have drawn or created, and 1 someone else did.

My favourite work of myself is a portrait of my son because it makes me smile whenever I look at his charming ‘baby smile’.
Portrait_son (1)

My favourite picture of another artist is ” La petite Irène” from the French Impressionist painter Pierre-Auguste Renoir because when I discovered this wonderful painting as a child on an art book it awakened my wish to become an artist myself. It gives me the most nostalgic feeling.
La petite Irène_renoir

8) What illustration related projects would you love to be able to do in the future?

I would love to Illustrate a children’s book.

I wonder if anyone reading this blog might need some help with a children’s book?? Her contact information is at the bottom of the post!

IMG_20150824_173220
9) What inspires you?

Nature and classical music.

10) Who is your favorite artist/illustrator? Why?

Pierre-Auguste Renoir because he draws like he has an angel in his heart and inspired me to become an artist.

11) Finally, tell us where to go to find you/who you illustrate for if you don’t have your own pages yet. (Twitter, Facebook, Blog, Pinterest, Online Bookstores, Physical Stores, Etc. List them all for us please!)

Instagram: M_Christina_Art

Twitter: @_Chris_Ti_Na_

Website: www.art-is-life-gallery.jimdo.com (german)

Thank you Christina for taking time out of your busy schedule to talk with us!

Remember, if you are an artistic soul who would like to do an interview, just give me a shout!

Leave a Reply

