Ink and Bone – Review

I read Rachel Caine’s ‘new’ book Ink and Bone at the beginning of September. Being a huge fan of her writing style and creativity made me both excited to dive in to something new from her interesting mind…and anxious in case the book didn’t live up to my expectations.

inkandbone

When they released the book synopsis, I was even more intrigued. Because…well I’ll share the Amazon synopsis here and you can see for yourself what had me all jazzed:

Via Amazon.com:

In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time.…

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.
 
Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.
 
When he inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn.

SEE^^^ I know I might be a bit odd, but even after having read the book, I’m still excited every time I read a synopsis of it. Obviously, I liked it. In fact, like is not a strong enough word to convey the feelings I have for this book. It’s been a month and I honestly still have that ache that you get when you’ve fallen so completely in love with a story and it’s characters and then have to come back out of their world. I’ve said it before about this book (and been warned about speaking so highly of a book when I’ve just completed it) but after a month I still feel so strongly about this book that I’m going to go ahead and repeat: The last time I felt this strong of a connection to characters and events in a book was the last time I reread Harry Potter. Yeah, it’s that good. In fact, I believe that this is quite possibly the best thing Rachel Caine has put out to date.

Not only is the story unique, slightly twisted, almost steam punk, and incredibly well written…but the characters come to life. There are a few scenes that could probably have been cut or tweaked without losing anything in the story, but that’s almost everything that’s ever been written. Yes, there are a few things that made me literally scream at my book, throwing it across the couch or bed and wrapping my arms around my chest to keep from going ballistic. But those things did not in any way detract from the overall story.

Typically at this point I would do an in depth study of the ideas in story line, the character development, the grammatical errors, places I feel the story could/should have been changed, etc etc. However, I’m not going to do any of that right now. I am simply going to tell you that this book is one you should check out. The cover is beautiful, the writing is beautiful, the plot is unique and superbly woven together…and those surprise twists will hit you hard in the best way.

I give it 5 dragons out of 5 dragons for synopsis, cover art, and story. This is a book I’ll be reading over and over again and I honestly cannot wait to read the next one!

Have you read Ink and Bone? What did YOU think? I would love to know!

Leave a Reply

