Author Interview – Jean Lamb

Welcome everyone to another week of Friday Interviews! This week we welcome life-long author, Jean Lamb. Thank you for stopping by Jean.

Jean Lamb

Let’s get right to the questions!

  • What name do you write under? Is this a pseudonym? Do you use more than one name when you write?

I write under the name of Jean Lamb, which is the name I usually go by. It’s not a pseudonym, though I have multiple series planned in multiple genres, so I may well use pseudonyms when I begin those. For instance, I have a Western saga series planned called The Western Wheel, which will cover the events in Sabado, Kansas, over a period of 60 years (each book is five years apart and it begins in 1850).

  • Tell us about the first time you realized that you were an author or were going to be an author.

I wrote really bad stories as a child, and what is worse, sent some of them out. I suspect the editors suspected my age, and were fairly gentle. I even made up a truly bad musical in junior high that I somehow inveigled the other kids in the neighborhood to participate in (no singing, just running around with occasional swordfights, punctuated by Plot Expositions).

  • What genre(s) do you write in, and why?

Right now I write in fantasy and romance. My next book, Phoenix in Shadow, is a combination of both. It’s not strictly a romantic fantasy, but a fantasy with a romance. I also have SF, historical mystery, and western saga books planned to write.

Due to release sometime in January 2016

Due to release sometime in January 2016

  • What genres are your favorites to read? Why?

I grew up on SF and fantasy, as well as sneak-reading my mom’s James Bond books (how I learned where Vladivostok was when in sixth grade, and why I didn’t tell the teacher how I’d learned it). Now I read a lot more SF, fantasy, mystery, historical, biographies, nonfiction (including some WWII books. Ok, I read everything).

That sounds like quite the eclectic list! I applaud you for it!

  • Tell us about your two all-time favorite characters: 1 that you wrote and 1 that someone else wrote.

The one that I wrote—Ravin Gambrell. He shows that there is life and courage after a devastating personal loss of house, family, and face. He also shows that there should be a limit to revenge. Eventually.

deadmanshand

The one I didn’t write—Professor Severus Snape. My husband is a chemistry teacher, you see, and I hear about what some of the students and what they get up to. He shows that love is everlasting even for the not-so-beautiful people, and that a person can do the right thing even when everyone else hates you.

I agree that Snape is amazing, and one of my top 5 characters from the series as well! He was played perfectly in the movies, in my opinion anyway.

 

  • There is a lot of controversy about allowing books to be made into movies (especially when they cut or change large portions of the plot). Would you be willing for your books/stories to become a movie? Why or why not?

Oh, yes—but only if I was part of the process. Many things can change, as long as the spirit of the story remains. This is weird, but I obsess over my last line; if I know my last line, then the rest of the book eventually lines up, even though I wander around a lot. The movie would have to make enough sense for that last line to work.

  • How do you handle writer’s block?

Morning pages. Even if you spend them whining, the process makes you sit down and write something. I disagree with Julia Cameron that they have to be handwritten, however. I can type forever, but handwriting bothers my wrist a great deal and I become nearly illegible. Typed morning pages allow me to salvage anything interesting for actual works in progress.

Of course, I try not to play Bejeweled until I have some writing done. I don’t have Candy Crush on my phone, either—as a recovering Tetris addict, I know what timesuckers those cute little games can be.

I am a game addict as well, so I try really REALLY hard not to ….oh look, someone sent me a request.

  • What inspires you?

Music! I have a variety of synesthesia where sound creates physical sensation/texture, which makes it easy for me to choreograph almost any kind of music. Even though my joints are not as limber as they use to be, getting up and dancing gets my blood flowing and my thoughts moving.

Art! Beauty of any kind moves me; whether it’s landscape in the beautiful Klamath Basin where I live, or the panoramic forests on my screensaver, or even the blossoms on the geranium hanging outside, color and light help me to live.

Love! A strong marriage of over 40 years and two children make me feel connected to others, as well as many friends who live here or on the Internet. I know the rhythms of love, both when they work and when they go wrong. And I know that supporting them, and asking for their support, helps make my life complete.

  • How do you respond when people ask what you do, then make that face if you say “I’m an author”?

I cheerfully point out what I write, where they can find my work, and mention that they can read the first three chapters for free before buying. I really hope I have hooked them by then. I still have a day job, though that will end at the end of this year. When I have the time I need, my motto will be “2k a day before I play”.

 A Brilliant Marriage

  • Finally, tell us where to go to find you

My books are on Amazon, of course, just look for Jean Lamb. I have one book on B&N, though alas it has not sold very well there. I have the gmail address jeanlambwriter@gmail.com, which I am very bad about checking, and I am also on Facebook.

hatchling finished

Thank you for sharing your awesome answers with us today Jean! Good luck with your books, and the 2k motto 😉

Remember, if you are someone in the business of books (even if you aren’t an author) and would like to be included in an interview just let me know! I look forward to hearing from you all. Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

