Author Interview – Yasmine Hamdi

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday’s Author Interviews! I very excited to introduce you to a talented teen author, Yasmine. Welcome Yasmine, let’s get started.

What name do you write under? Is this a pseudonym? Do you use more than one name when you write?

Yasmine Hamdi, my full name. I just use this one to write.

Tell us about the first time you realized that you were an author or were going to be an author.

Tuesday morning actually, when I received an email from Amazon saying “Congratulations! Spirit of the Wind has been published…” It was exciting. I’ve always wanted to publish a book since I was 8 years old.

What genre(s) do you write in, and why?

MG, because it’s easier for me to write for a younger audience. I enjoy writing adventure stories the most.

What genres are your favorites to read? Why?

Young adult, because it’s my age level. I enjoy Adventure, Dystopian, Historical, some horror…

Tell us about your two all-time favorite characters: 1 that you wrote and 1 that someone else wrote.

Kyrah Willis- I created her. She is just really determined to stand up for what she believes in, not letting anything stop her at the age of 12.

Tris Prior- Part of the famous Divergent series and created by Veronica Roth, Tris is intelligent, cunning and fearless. She cares for her family and friends and strives to fight for what is worth fighting for.

There is a lot of controversy about allowing books to be made into movies (especially when they cut or change large portions of the plot). Would you be willing for your books/stories to become a movie? Why or why not?

Definetly! I feel that most things will remain in my book because it’s only around 170 pages. I think it’d be incredible to see my work on screen, speak with the actors and gain a lot of publicity.

How do you handle writer’s block?

Taking a short break from writing and reading to get ideas.

What inspires you?

People who don’t give up, no matter how many times they’ve been knocked down. For example, J.K Rowling who was rejected countless times before her extraordinary success.

How do you respond when people ask what you do, then make that face if you say “I’m an author”?

In my case actually, people are always impressed because I am fifteen. No one asks me what I do though. But when I get older, I think I’ll respond by saying, “I have a job that I love so much, I’ve never worked a day in my life”

Finally, tell us where to go to find you:

My Twitter

My Instagram

My Book 

Thank you everyone for joining us this week. Remember, if you would like to be featured in an interview you should let me know. I hope you all have a fabulous weekend!lcover

Leave a Reply

