Author Interview – Angela J. Ford

Welcome Everyone to another fabulous edition of our Friday Author Interviews! This week we have the lovely Angela joining us with her answers to our standard  10 questions for authors. Let’s see what she has to say:

_Q7B3531

  • What name do you write under? Is this a pseudonym? Do you use more than one name when you write?

I actually write under my own name, but first I did some research to see if there were any other authors or public figures with the same name. Turns out, there’s an Angela Ford who writes romance novels, so I branded myself as Angela J. Ford.

I wonder how many people find you because they’re looking for a little romantic tale? That would be an interesting statistic to check out!

  • Tell us about the first time you realized that you were an author or were going to be an author.

It just happened! Growing up with four sisters we were always telling stories with our toys, reading books, making up all kinds of entertaining tales. Then one day instead of saying those stories out loud, I started writing them down, and short stories turned into novels, and novels turned into series. When I was 12 I finished the first draft of “The Five Warriors” and after that, the books continued to pour out of me. I knew wanted to publish them, it was just a matter of when. 14 years later, now it’s finally happening!

TFW - ebook cover

Way to stick to it! 

  • What genre(s) do you write in, and why?

I love fairy tales and knowing anything can happen, there’s a hopeful outlook on life when you know anything is possible. That’s one of the reasons I write fantasy, the other is because I enjoy creating worlds, peoples and creatures that are similar but not quite like earth and humans. It’s much easier for me to write when I can create histories of peoples groups instead of researching them.

  • What genres are your favorites to read? Why?

Ah, such a hard question! As of late thrillers and suspense are my favorite genres to read. I love the way they pull the reader in, twist the story and make you think, I always try to guess what happens before the end. It’s like paying a game of Clue but with a book. I also read a lot of inspirational self-help books as well to keep me thinking, learning and growing as I build my marketing business.

  • Tell us about your two all-time favorite characters: 1 that you wrote and 1 that someone else wrote.

Honestly, I like all of my characters but one of my favorites is in the final books of The Four Worlds Series is Eliesmore. He is a young, reluctant hero, a bit skeptical, and often feels like he’s been thrown in over his head. But he has a destiny which takes him on insane adventures, he runs into hilarious folk. It was quite fun creating the magical, mysterious world he lived in.

One of my favorite characters is Sybel from “The Forgotten Beasts of Eld” by Patricia A. McKillip. She is a chilling, powerful wizard unaccustomed to emotion until a child and a man cause her to step down from her mountain of security. It’s a wonderful, magical tale.

  • There is a lot of controversy about allowing books to be made into movies (especially when they cut or change large portions of the plot). Would you be willing for your books/stories to become a movie? Why or why not?

Absolutely, I’d love for my books to be turned into a movie or a television series. I’m a huge fan of the film industry and understand the different between the medium of film and writing. There are certain things a viewer expects from a movie that are different from what a reader expects in a book.

  • How do you handle writer’s block?

Oh the struggle, I just remind myself to write. Some days it could be 10 words, others 10 pages, but it’s the practice that makes perfect. Besides, one always have the option to come back, re-draft and fix your work. It’s the practice of writing, the repetition that helps me move past the writer’s block.

  • What inspires you?

Many moments in life inspire me, but mainly enjoying the beauty of nature. All of my books have some sort of journey theme because I adore traveling. Of course I’m inspired by the books and movies as well.

  • How do you respond when people ask what you do, then make that face if you say “I’m an author”?

To each their own, I already know not everyone likes authors, heck, not everyone enjoys reading! That’s fine by me, there are billions of people of the world and I’m not too worried about those who don’t “approve” of what I do. It’s just one of those things in life, you will always find the negative people, the downers, the realists, but that doesn’t mean you need to take their words to heart not change your course because one random stranger doesn’t believe in you.

What a great way to look at it!

  • Finally, tell us where to go to find you:

You can find me almost anywhere only, and please say hi, I love chatting.
Book Website: www.thefivewarriors.com
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Five-Warriors-Angela-J-Ford/dp/1512163619
Twitter: www.twitter.com/aford21
Facebook: www.facebook.com/thefourworldsseries
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4522765.Angela_J_Ford

Instagram: www.instagram.com/aford21
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/aford21
Blog: www.angelajford.com/blog

Thank you for sharing a bit of insight into your world with us Angela! It has been a joy to read your answers and have you with us at Here There Be Dragons!

Remember everyone, if you are enjoying this series and would like to be featured in your own interview please let me know! (You don’t have to let me know if you don’t enjoy or don’t want to be featured…I’ll figure it out from your lack of contact. However, if you just can’t hold it back, go ahead and leave me a comment telling me whats up!)

Happy Weekend Everyone! We’ll see you back here soon for another interview with another amazing author!

2 thoughts on “Author Interview – Angela J. Ford

Leave a Reply

