Writers Quote Wednesday – or Whenever

Writers Quote Wednesdays are the delightful and fun weekly invention of Silver Threading, a woman who has an entire blog full of awesome! Check out this week’s WQW, as well as her rules, posts, and comments for more Information.

Ronovan, of ronovanwrites.wordpress.com and Lit World Interviews, has joined the Threading Movement for Writing Quotes on Wednesdays by creating his own weekly prompt post #BeWOW   (Be Wonderful and/or Writing on Wednesdays). Head over to his pages and see what his rules, ideas, and entries are like!

Today, halfway through NaNoWriMo, I wanted to share a few quotes on something that practically anyone alive has some experience with…and that becomes horribly prevalent (or more so, anyway) for many during the month of November. PROCRASTINATION.

That’s right, I said it..procrastination. Let me be the first to admit here: My Name is Beth, I am an author, a mother, an educator, an avid reader…and I am a procrastinator. A queen of procrastination…I have a crown. They should give me a sash…in fact, they were supposed to order one for me last year but, surprise surprise, it hasn’t happened yet. NCIS marathons are killer. 

There, phew, I’m glad that’s out of the way. Now we can get around to figuring out what, exactly, this whole procrastinating thing is about.

For those of you who are not aware because, let’s face it, there are at least two of you that are in denial, procrastination is defined by dictionary.com as: the act or habit of procrastinating, or putting off or delaying, especially something requiring immediate attention.

The weirdest part, which is also the funniest and the saddest depending on my mood, is that I procrastinate by doing other things that I previously procrastinated about. For example, to give myself a reason to not do dishes Monday I decided to work on NaNoWriMo. To give myself a reason not to work on NaNoWrimo yesterday, I cleaned out the bottom shelf of my fridge. Today I’m writing this post instead of NaNo-ing and I’m sure when it comes time to wash a pan I’ll be suddenly stricken with a grand idea and write a few thousand words instead of scrubbing things.

So what can we do? I have no idea…but I do have a few quotes on the subject for you. Obviously, I never stop at one or two when there are so many to choose from! (I procrastinated everything and anything yesterday by spending nearly two hours on Pinterest finding lyrics and quotes that have absolutely no part in anything I’m doing right now…except that I love music.)

37b58ffa655d6c09df38a584782646c3

I’m not so lazy as I am fearful…if I don’t do it correctly, if I fall, If I fail..my over thinking skills are amazing.

I did, however, take the time to only choose my top 8 motivational quotes to help you overcome procrastination…because I care.

 

10 thoughts on “Writers Quote Wednesday – or Whenever

  1. Oh, my goodness! What a perfect post with Nanowrimo going on! I do not suffer from procrastination often, but when I do… Phew!!! You always have the best quotes to share. I love every single one of them. Just think of all the joy you had in your quote research. 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

