Author Interview – Latoya Brown

Welcome to the January 19th edition of Author Interview Friday! I’m so excited that we’ve been able to keep this segment of the blog and going so well. Thank you all for the support! This week we’re talking with the author of Wanted: Green Card  Latoya Brown. Latoya is a social media marketer with a lot to say on a topic that needs more attention. Let’s get to know her better!

authorlatoyabrown

From her blog about page:

 

 

1) What name do you write under? Is this a pseudonym? Do you use 
more than one name when you write?
I am using my own name for this book.
So the name is Latoya Brown! Check it out
2) Tell us about the first time you realized that you were an author or 
were going to be an author.
I realized I was an author while in high school – advanced placement classes required a LOT of writing.
All of those huge essays and stories to write…they definitely want to make sure you know how to put sentences and paragraphs together!
3) What genre(s) do you write in, and why?
This is my first published book and it is a romantic saga…gone wrong.51NOec--+aL._SX384_BO1,204,203,200_
How intriguing! So this book is about being duped into marriage for a green card? Not something you hear about often but something we should warn about more. 
4) What genres are your favorites to read? Why?
Believe it or not, but I love reading and perusing knitting books. The creativity and what I could do to a possible project intrigue me.
I love it. I often find myself crocheting and watching movies while a plot line simmers! I have some fabulous hats so my brain keeps warm and the creativity required helps the stories to flow too.
5) Tell us about your two all-time favorite characters: 1 that you 
wrote and 1 that someone else wrote. 
My favorite thus far has been me – I get to rewrite myself everyday.
Another favorite character by someone else is …
She just couldn’t decide between them…that’s always my issue as well!
6) There is a lot of controversy about allowing books to be made into movies (especially when they cut or change large portions of the plot). Would you be willing for your books/stories to become a movie? Why or why not?
Yes, I would love for my book to become a movie. There are so many women afflicted by this issue, so why not get the message out to a bigger audience so that there are less victims.
7) How do you handle writer’s block?
I think I simply wait. Because of my blog, which accompanies the book, I simply wait for days to see if the words will reach me in a way to explain it all.
How interesting. This is a  topic we don’t usually hear much about and the idea of the waiting for the block to resolve is also one I don’t normally hear much. Way to go 🙂
8) What inspires you?
I am inspired by action and not giving myself a future promise. For example, people always say that they want to travel. I said the same and just set out to do it. If I wait then I won’t be able to enjoy traveling as much and why wait. Let’s go!
Movement can be very inspiring…but so can sleep! I often enjoy a good bout of inspiring naptimes. 
9) How do you respond when people ask what you do, then make that face if you say “I’m an author”?
I’ve actually never said that in an introduction thus far because my book is so new. Before being an author (look, I said it!) I work primarily in assisting companies and brands in social media marketing.
That resume would probably lend itself well to introducing the idea of yourself as an author! Good luck
10) Finally, tell us where to go to find you (Twitter, Facebook, Blog, Online Bookstores, Physical Stores, Etc. List them all for us please!)
The blog accompanies the book and is available for free right now – you should go check it out.
The book is available on Amazon – you should go buy it right now.
One thought on “Author Interview – Latoya Brown

Leave a Reply

