Saturday Stories for 1/16/16

Welcome back to 

Saturday Stories

This is a weekly post in which I update you on how I did with my goals and such over the past several days and link up to things you might have missed from me this week. I also give you a peek at something I’ve been working on! (If you just want to read my story excerpt, skip to the end!)

You can see last week’s post here. This week’s post should be short and sweet…I didn’t meet them.

Ok, let’s start from the beginning. On Sunday I posted my usual Sunday Goals and TBR video over on my YouTube (BookTube) channel. In that video I stated that my goals were basically to Read Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, to finish edits my current contest WIP, organize The Way We Were and to write three more chapters on Paulonious Punk.

So did I get that done? Of course not!

Here’s what I did:

I DID finish Six of Crows – Review(s) to be up soon.

I DID NOT write on Paulonious Punk but I will soon.

I DID get Beta Readers for A Siren’s Tale – and am now adding more to the last part. I’ve written about 500 words or so.

I DID take some time and organize 3 sections of The Way We Were and I think I added about 200-300 words in there.

I also did the normal blog posts so we had Spotlight on Art, Author Interview Friday, Writer’s Quote Wednesday, and a Bonus post containing videos about Alan Rickman and Harry Potter in general. .  I also did a video for David Bowie, which can be found here.

So basically, I’ve written somewhere between 1-2 thousand words this week…approximately. I don’t know because I hand write most things before typing them up so I don’t everything put into the computer as of yet. What I DO have, is this excerpt for you!

This is the beginning of a currently UNNAMED slightly dystopian story I started a few months ago. Though I have left it sitting in favor of the above mentioned ‘other’ works, I plan on getting back to this soon. I hope you enjoy it but, please, let me know what you think!

The end of the world has come and gone, but we are all still here somehow.

No one will believe me when I tell them about the apocalypse; not even my family or my best friend. They all think I’m nuts. A weirdo who wasn’t born properly. The disease that destroyed my world has touched every person around me and no one even realizes it. I rarely leave my room now and I never speak of this anymore. There are only two places I feel safe from this dread existence: my newly reinforced bedroom fort and the place I was when the whole world went daft; the library.

When I think back to that night…I try not to think back to that night. The last one to leave the library after book club, I did as I usually do, I mean usually did, and stayed behind for an hour or more to research and write. I’m a writer. Apparently I’m the only writer left in the world. With all of the movies, television series, and music cancellations since the event everything has become reruns and news channels. The few stations that remain anyway, most of them have gone to blank screens. So much for the HD television flat screen revolution! Goodbye new music radio stations, so long actors and screen writers. This viral attack took it all from us. It wasn’t exactly the end of the world, but it might as well have been.

By: Elizabeth S. Tyree

2 thoughts on “Saturday Stories for 1/16/16

  1. Thanks for reminding me about Six of Crows. I got a gift card for Christmas for Chapters and my store 5 blocks from here has it in stock. I’m going to pick it up this afternoon. Hope you had a fabulous Christmas!

Leave a comment